Smashed Fingerling Potatoes with Jalapeños- Bon Appétit, July 2014

Fingerling potatoes with jalapenos

“FOR OUTDOOR USE” declared the July issue of Bon Appétit. I thought that was terrific, and pictured myself standing over the grill, Bon Appétit in one hand, fork in the other, tasty meat charring before me. Possibly while wearing  a jaunty chef’s hat.

Of course the first recipe I made from this issue was not outdoors during the glory days of summer, but indoors at the end of August. If I was an issue of Bon Appétit magazine, my cover would read “FOR INDOOR USE ONLY.” The outdoors is just a terrible place, guys. Mosquitoes. Dirt. Bugs. Non-controlled climate.

If you somehow are still grilling into the final days of summer, this is a very nice potato dish to make indoors and then eat with your outdoor food. Or you could cook your entire meal indoors and congratulate yourself on your passive dominance over nature.

Usually when someone says “Potato Salad,” one pictures a bowl of mayonnaise with a few sad potatoes floating around. This recipe is a million times better. Small fingerling potatoes are drizzled in olive oil and oven-roasted, then tossed with a delicious whole-grain mustard vinaigrette, fresh parsley, and jalapeños while warm. The jalapeños provide the perfect kick.

These potatoes pairs well with any summer-ish meat main – burgers, steak, barbecue chicken.

Smashed Fingerlings with Jalapenos 

(Bon Appétit, July 2014, recipe by Lou Lambert and Larry McGuire)

My Notes: 

  • Smashing the potatoes is fun. Give them about five minutes to cool then gently press on them with a wooden spoon until they pop.
  • I used red-wine vinegar.
  • I didn’t think my potatoes were overly large but halved most of them anyway to make them more bite-sized.
  • I was bringing this to a Labor Day party, so I removed the core and seeds from the jalapeños before slicing in case others did not share in my adoration for spice.
  • I thought this was better warm, so make it as close to meal time as you can. I made mine about five hours before serving it, and it was definitely tastier in the first hour than it was in the last.

Ingredients

  • 3 pounds fingerling potatoes, halved crosswise if large
  • ½ cup olive oil, divided
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • ¼ cup Sherry vinegar or red wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon whole grain mustard
  • 1 jalapeño, thinly sliced into rounds, seeds removed if desired
  • ¼ cup (lightly packed) torn flat-leaf parsley leaves

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 450°. Toss potatoes with ¼ cup oil on a rimmed baking sheet; season with salt and pepper. Roast, tossing once, until golden brown and tender, 30–35 minutes. Let cool slightly, then lightly flatten.
  2. Meanwhile, whisk vinegar and mustard in a large bowl. Gradually whisk in remaining ¼ cup oil until emulsified; season with salt and pepper. Add potatoes, jalapeño, and parsley and toss; season with salt and pepper.
2 thoughts on “Smashed Fingerling Potatoes with Jalapeños- Bon Appétit, July 2014

  1. 1. Your blog is still the best blog I read
    2. I had opened this tab then gotten distracted, and when I looked back the tab said “smashed finger.” I was horrified that you had suffered a disaster. Glad to see it was only potatoes who were smashed.
    3. I’m making this this week because it looks amazing. Did you reheat it at all, or is it an “eat at once and then not so much” sort of dish?

Leave a Reply

